What inspires you?

I’ve been thinking lately about what inspires me…What is inspiring? I know it is personal…that what inspires me wouldn’t necessarily inspire you….Is it what turns us on? Is it connected to our childhood? Our parents? Our first experience with sex? Orgasm?

Inspire:

  1. to fill with an animating, quickening, or exalting influence
  2. to produce or arouse (a feeling, thought, etc.)
  3. to fill or affect with a specified feeling, thought, etc.
  4. to influence or impel

(definitions found at dictionary.com)

I get inspired by a great song. The emotional melody, the poignant lyrics, the reaction it invokes within me…

For instance Christina Perri’s song Distance; “The sun in filling up the room, And I can hear you dreaming…”

I wrote a twenty minute play about this song. About what images came to mind. About how it made me feel and where I escaped to when I listened to it on my own terms.

I’m inspired by my regrets…my ‘what ifs’…what could have been but wasn’t. The unknown to me is inspiring. Things I’ve left behind…

New York City. Everything it encapsulates. The smells, the sounds, the movement, the energy…the loneliness, the fear…I moved there in a time when I was free to make mistakes (which I made quite a few) and I was free to…to just be. Completely and totally just be. I was present. That is inspiring.

Romeo and Juliet. The idea of two people loving each other beyond time, space, and all other obstacles. I find that inspiring and romantic and…it turns me on.

I get inspired by stories of people being brave. Bravery. Honesty. That inspires me.

I have a friend who inspires me often. Adrian. He is fighting stage four pancreatic cancer. And I am inspired by his bravery. By his honesty as he puts all of his thoughts, experiences and his full reality out there.

So…

My next adventure is to support Adrian. I am trying to raise funds for the research that is helping to improve his quality and quantity of life. I don’t like asking for things from anyone. It doesn’t make me feel comfortable. I don’t like it. But it’s time I make time and space for something more important than me and my family….someone who could use my help and so therefore I am trying to raise $1000 or more for cancer research at the Ottawa Hospital Foundation. Please see my Facebook page for more information and give what you can for cancer research, and For Adrian.

He inspires me. He has inspired my next journey and perhaps he (or I) can inspire you too!!!!

https://www.facebook.com/jenn.weatherall

IMG_3167

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

