I Fucking Won…

IMG_0577

Tonight I watched a live reading of my winning play. The anxiety, and the fear, the crazy uncontrollable energy (and for those who know me know I NEED to have control)…And then as they started to read the words that I wrote…those words that originated in my head and were now living between two people up on a stage infront of me…At first it was foreign. Like words in my head being said by strangers…and then suddenly they weren’t strangers…they (he specifically) became the people in my head…the people meant to say those words…I got accustomed to it and enjoyed listening. It was a good play. I think. I recorded most of it and have indulged watching it a few times since.

There is nothing more dramatic, I think, than the energy between two people. Two people with different motivations, different actions and in some way or another need each other.  The other two plays read tonight were interesting. They had interesting stories and I admired the creativity of both. With five plus characters in both they strongly differed from my short two character play. That’s ok. Different styles. Different writers. My personal opinion…the fourth wall comes down quicker when we are able to witness intimacy between individuals. I love a good story. Especially one not told before. But I prefer being a bystander to an honest human connection. One that I can relate to and that allows me to learn from. Just me.

It was a fantastic motivator. And a fantastic night! I’m going to keep my eyes open for more opportunities like this one. One with guide lines and a time limit….But in the mean time I have some work to do on Fire and Rain in July.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Fucking Won…

  1. Lori Straus says:

    Nice job, Jenn. Congrats on your win!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

