24 in 24 Writing Challenge Part 1

Two hours in and ten stories done.

Definition of a short story as found in the merriam-webster dictionary:  an invented prose narrative shorter than a novel usually dealing with a few characters and aiming at unity of effect and often concentrating on the creation of mood rather than plot.

I am not writing long masterpieces by any means. I am actually following the guidelines of a contest put out there by the Gotham Writers writing school in New York City. Each month they ask you to tweet short stories 140 characters or less on whatever topic they suggest. Each month a winner receives a free online class.

This month the topic is ‘Surprising Encounter’.

Here are a few of my favourites so far:

  1. Persistent strange gnawing sound interrupting my sleep for weeks. Finally while using a q-tip the squirming thing revealed itself.
  2. Another fight with my daughter left me teary eyed hiding in the bathroom. Washed my face and found there staring at me in the mirror; my mother. Shit, it’s finally happened.
  3. Warm, constricted happiness. Suddenly being forced out of Utopia. Blackness. “Stop! Let me go back!” And then a beautiful crying face coddles me. Happiness again.
  4. Rushing out the door children screaming and fighting I am slammed in the face with a “God Will Save You Flier”. “For Christ’s sake shut up!” And we push past the black suits.

Much more to do. Tomorrow I will attack next month’s topic: ‘It Happened In the Shadows’. It’s difficult to come up with new situations for each story but it’s gotten a little easier in the last hour. Don’t know if they are contest winners but I’m enjoying it, and discovering I’m capable. Hopefully I can throw a couple longer ones in there.

Thanks for reading.

 

Art. I care.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

