24 Hour Challenge Complete!

Among my motherly duties, cleaning the house, going for a run and somewhere in there sleeping; I completed 24 portraits in 24 hours. Didn’t know if I was going to make it there when I had 2.5 hours left and seven portraits still to do but I did.

What was the point?

I love a challenge. Who needs to find another person/organization to offer a challenge when we can give one to ourselves? It was suggested to me to give this challenge a try. To see if it would help me to discover my style or niche. I probably limited myself by making it 24 portraits but…I love to draw faces. I find it enjoyable, pleasing…comforting.

The first seven portraits I did with a fine felt tip. It felt timid, a little awkward and unsure. When I changed to a thicker tip marker I was freer, more bold, joyous…more like me. So, I learned that I enjoy drawing with a thick tipped marker.

I also learned that if I could find a way to make a living drawing…well, I would be in “career heaven”.

Finally, I learned that I am determined to succeed. My six year old said to me today,”Mommy, you don’t have to do 24 drawings”. And she was right. But when I set my mind to something, when I make that first step towards something I want…I finish it.That first step is normally the scariest. And as soon as I step I normally look back wishing to take it right back…but I haven’t yet. If there is no insurmountable force stopping me from finishing…then I, up to this point, have finished. Hopefully my girls take note of that. .

So it was a worth while exercise. It made me feel excited, anxious, stressed and finally successful. My work definitely got better as I drew more and I look forward to exploring it further with much more colour in the weeks to come.

Here are a few of my favourites….

Art. I care…just a little bit more after this challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 24 Hour Challenge Complete!

  1. Samantha daniel says:

    Awesome! I love that you explored so many facial expressions. So beautiful!

    Like

  2. annakleinschmidt82 says:

    Stunning! What talent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

